Insert your custom message here. close ×

The Cherry Dolls release their new album ‘Viva Los Dolls’ on 24th November, on Golden Robot Records

Melbourne band The Cherry Dolls release full-length debut album ‘Viva Los Dolls’ on Golden Robot Records.

“Raw dog dirty realness as Rock ‘n’ Roll should be! I would describe this band as heavily influenced by The Stooges, MC5, Johnny Thunders or New York Dolls, of course there are many bands out there with similar influences, The Cherry Dolls are a band who gets it right. I love the sort of country and western meets old school punk track …….. but I really dig the whole album! I suspect these catz would be really awesome live!”
Dena VonKook

With two critically acclaimed EPs under their belt and more broken guitar strings and tour damaged gear than they’d care to recall, The Cherry Dolls are now ready to deliver their highly anticipated debut album, Viva Los Dolls, with Alex Markwell of The Delta Riggs sitting in on production duties to capture their blistering sound on record.

Clocking up two years of unrelenting gigging and recording the quintet – Joshua Aubry, Jakob Kagan, Thomas van der Vliet, Brendan West and Jim Stirton – has given more than fair warning of its promise as one of Australia’s most electrifying bands, which they’ve now proudly captured on this record.

Check out a live version of the track ‘Slave’:
Video for the track ‘Begging You Please':
Listen to the track ‘Blister’:

The CD is stickered Parental Advisory (Explicit Content)!
The Cherry Dolls are: Joshua Aubry, Jakob Kagan, Thomas van der Vliet, Brendan West, Jim Stirton

Track list:
1. C.O.P. Out
2. Slave
3. Let You Down
4. Bottom of the Wall
5. Kimchi
6. Hollywood
7. Love
8. Lemon & Lime
9. Begging You Please
10. Blister

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

Sydney hardcore legends Toe To Toe release their new album ‘Rise Up’ on 24th November

Sydney hardcore legends Toe To Toe release their new album ‘Rise Up’ on 24th November, on Golden Robot Records.

One of the most successful hardcore bands in Australia’s history, Toe To Toe – fronted by singer Scott Mac – wear their influences on their tattooed sleeves and are renowned for their dedication to the ethics of 80’s hardcore. Passion, intensity and intelligence delivered through the aggressive fusion of metal, punk and old school hardcore that is raw, on edge and completely honest.

‘Rise Up’ features 12 brand new tracks and is a statement to the band’s longevity. Since forming a quarter of a century ago in 1992, their tale is one of survival, struggle and total conviction. Raging against the current state of the world, Toe To Toe’s message is just as important and potent (if not more so) today than at any time throughout their career.

Two singles have been released from the album to prime fans for the album release. The anthemic call to arms that is the title track, ‘Rise Up’ and an ode to their hometown, ‘Sydney’.

Check out the video to ‘Rise Up’:
Check out the video to ‘Blacklisted’:

The CD is stickered Parental Advisory (Explicit Content)!

Track list:
1. Monolith
2. Bastards Luck
3. Endurance (Ode To A Wasted Youth)
4. My War, My Way
5. First Sin
6. Takedown
7. D.T.O.M.
8. Rise Up
9. Blacklisted
10. Turn Your Head Around
11. Rub Of The Green
12. Sydney

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

Kilbey Kennedy release their new album ‘Glow And Fade’ on 24th November on Golden Robot Records

‘Glow And Fade’ is the fifth album from Steve Kilbey and Martin Kennedy, celebrating a decade of collaboration, and is set for release on the 24th November via Golden Robot Records

Steve Kilbey…singer, songwriter, bassist, painter, writer, poet, actor, sage, is one of Australia’s most loved artists. In 1980 he formed The Church, and he has released 14 solo music albums since. His song Under the Milky Way won the “Best Single of the Year” award at the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) awards event in 1989.

The music of Martin Kennedy has featured in CSI: Miami, One Tree Hill, The Lying Game, the UK’s long running Emmerdale, and many more. Martin and his band All India Radio have released ten acclaimed albums since 1999.

This fifth album by Steve Kilbey and Martin Kennedy is an 8 track masterpiece, which opens with the spacey dream rock of title track and second single, Glow And Fade, which immediately transports the listener to another world with Kilbey’s melancholic optimism reminding all of our earthly, human limitations. The rest of the album includes the dynamism of The Game Never Changes, a sixteen minute prog-rock inspired epic, going through some of Kilbey’s darkest ever lyrics and ending with a soaring solo of Pink Floyd proportions.

With echoes of David Bowie and Roger Waters then comes They Know, with its oblique lyrics interweaved with lush acoustic guitar, strings and trumpet. The fourth track on the album, We Are Still Waiting, was the first single to be lifted from the album. It’s driving synth laden dream pop with everything that was good about the 80’s and showcases Kilbey’s lyrical mastery in a beautiful duet with Melbourne vocalist, Selena Cross.
Cross also joins Kilbey for The Law of the Jungle, a real-life break-up being the catalyst for this heart achingly raw song. Levitate and The Story of Jonah, continue the brilliance, with slow beats, dark synth, and prog-rock overtones. Completing the magic is One Is All, a play on All Is One from Kilbey Kennedy’s first album together providing a fitting bookend to the ten years of collaboration and an uplifting conclusion to Glow and Fade.

Steve Kilbey: “The songs are about wide eyed naiveté and crushing cynicism, nature of time, time of nature, the struggle and the defeat, love in all its old disguises. It really is quite a journey”

Martin Kennedy: “musically it is the ultimate convergence of all my music projects and influences from my childhood love of Pink Floyd to the atmospheric landscapes of my All India Radio project and the dream rock of our Kilbey Kennedy output. It all comes together on Glow and Fade”

Check out the video to Glow And Fade:
Check out the video to We Are Still Waiting:

Track list:
1. Glow And Fade
2. The Game Never Changes
3. They Know
4. We Are Still Waiting
5. The Law of the Jungle
6. Levitate
7. The Story of Jonah
8. One Is All

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

Rose Tattoo release their Tatts: Live In Brunswick 1982 album on 24th November

Legendary rockers Rose Tattoo release their Tatts: Live In Brunswick 1982 album featuring 14 tracks recorded at Melbourne’s Bombay Bicycle Club in Brunswick in 1982 and mastered for loyal fans in 2017!

Here’s an album that takes you back thirty-five years; the Australian pub rock scene was at its peak, live music was everywhere, and so was Rose Tattoo, becoming one of Australia’s most revered rock bands of all time, known for their peerless, raw, heavy blues rock, hot mix of slide guitars, and the unmistakable voice of Angry Anderson.

Featuring classics like ‘Assault And Battery’, ‘Scarred For Life’ and ‘Rock And Roll Outlaw’, Tatts: Live in Brunswick was recorded when rock was king and Rose Tattoo – Angry Anderson, Pete Wells, Rob Riley, Geordie Leach and Dallas ‘Digger’ Royall – was at its most formidable.

What lies ahead in 2018? Rose Tattoo will be releasing a brand new album and will be touring worldwide, with their their new line-up featuring a certain Mark Evans on bass!

Get rocking with this 1982 live version of ‘Scarred For Life’:

Band pic – 2017 line-up.

The CD is stickered Parental Advisory (Explicit Content)!
Track list:
1. Out Of This Place
2. Bad Boy For Love
3. Assault And Battery
4. Tramp
5. We Can’t Be Beaten
6. Butcher And Fast Eddy
7. Rock And Roll Is King
8. Texas
9. One Of The Boys
10. Branded
11. Revenge
12. Juice On The Loose
13. Rock And Roll Outlaw
14. Scarred For Life

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

1 2 3